+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Problem with Passur

  1. #1
    Senior Member Speedbird1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,461

    Question Problem with Passur

    I have been unable to use Passur for the last several days. I have checked my Java and it's OK. I just get the map but no applets appear. Is it my equipment or is it Passur? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Administrator GothamSpotter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    9,302
    Not working for me either.
    Ladies and gentlemen, this is your captain speaking. We have a small problem.
    All four engines have stopped. We are doing our damnedest to get them under control.
    I trust you are not in too much distress. —Captain Eric Moody, British Airways Flight 9

  3. #3
    Senior Member yankees368's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,507
    The EWR map seems to be working, but not LGA or JFK. If you zoom EWR out far enough, you should be able to see traffic at both those airports, however.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Speedbagel_001's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    West Hempstead, NY
    Posts
    175
    I'm on a Mac and have been unable to use it for months!! I've tested it on several Macs, and none work, so I know it isn't an isolated problem. It stopped working after Apple came out with an update to Java. A subsequent update failed to fix it. I even tried emailing Passur tech support but got no response.
    For me, I can see the map, and sometimes the planes. But cannot click on anything and planes do not move or update. It's as if the page loads into a frozen state.
    Also, I've tested it with 3 browsers: Safari, Firefox and Chrome. It will not work with any of them.
    I've essentially given up on it until "somebody fixes something". Not holding my breath though...

  5. #5
    Administrator GothamSpotter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    9,302
    Oh well, try Planefinder instead. Does not capture as many aircraft as Passur, but for the ones it does see you get full info...airline, reg, type, route, etc.
    Ladies and gentlemen, this is your captain speaking. We have a small problem.
    All four engines have stopped. We are doing our damnedest to get them under control.
    I trust you are not in too much distress. —Captain Eric Moody, British Airways Flight 9

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Bronx, New York
    Posts
    3,117
    The Industry paid version of Passur I use at work has had a lot of minor 24 hour or so glitches the last few weeks. They have an excellent Help Desk but since most of the glitches are gone the next day I have not called them recently. Today it seems to be working fine here at LGA.

  7. #7
    Senior Member moose135's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    7,569
    Quote Originally Posted by Speedbagel_001 View Post
    I'm on a Mac and have been unable to use it for months!!
    Well, there's your problem right there...

  8. #8
    Senior Member Speedbagel_001's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    West Hempstead, NY
    Posts
    175
    Quote Originally Posted by moose135 View Post
    Well, there's your problem right there...
    Ha! And I'm proud to have one too!
    On my desk at work, I've got a 27 inch, quad-Core i5 iMac which works quite well - other than with Airport Monitor, that is.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Speedbird1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,461
    Great news. After several days, Passur is running for JFK. This happens too often. Planefinder is good but doesn't include the map, I believe, nor does Planedinder showing the routes as well as the arrival/departure runways. Since I live near the JFK departure path, only Passur will show me what aircraft I saw, let's say at 1510 yesterday. By the way, I've yet to find a cell that gets Passur and can show the Java applets. I've tried Apple (no Java), Androids and Windows phones.

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts